Sign up to receive tips and stay current with the latest IELTS news.


You must be able to demonstrate a high level of English language proficiency if you want to work, live, or study in an English-speaking country. The International English Language Testing System (IELTS) is an English language test designed to help you study, migrate, or work in a country where English is the native language.

How many types of IELTS tests are there?

Depending on your goals or purpose for moving abroad, you may choose to sit one of the following IELTS tests:

  • IELTS Academic test

  • IELTS General Training test

IELTS Test Types

IELTS has a number of different test types which you can choose from according to your intent.

IELTS Academic

If you plan to study in higher education or seek professional registration, you can take the IELTS Academic test.

IELTS General Training

If your goal is to study secondary education, work, or migrate to an English-speaking country, IELTS General Training test might be right for you.

Make sure to visit the relevant government or institutional websites to confirm which test you need to take, as government agencies, institutions, and other recognising organisations set their own IELTS entry requirements.